JAMES & WELLS

Madrid Protocol Countries

The Madrid Protocol offers a useful option for registering and managing trade marks worldwide through the World Intellectual Property Organisation. Applicants can file a single application for registration of a trade mark designating up to 131 countries. Depending on the inherent registrability of the trade mark and the number of countries and classes to be covered, taking the Madrid Protocol option may be more convenient and cost-effective than applying to register a trade mark on a country by country basis. The following table shows the countries that are currently signatories to the Madrid Protocol - notable exceptions include South Africa and Hong Kong.

Afghanistan	Cyprus ♦	Kyrgyzstan	Rwanda
Africa - OAPI ‡	Czech Republic *	Laos	Samoa
Albania	Denmark *	Latvia	San Marino
Algeria	Egypt	Lesotho	Sao Tome & Principe
Antigua and Barbuda	Estonia *	Liberia	Serbia
Armenia	Eswatini	Liechtenstein	Sierra Leone
Australia	European Union *	Lithuania ♦	Singapore
Austria ♦	Finland *	Madagascar	Sint Maarten
Azerbaijan	France *	Malawi	Slovakia ♦
Bahrain	Gambia	Malaysia	Slovenia ♦
Belarus	Georgia	Mauritius	Spain ♦
Belize	Germany *	Mexico	Sudan
Benelux **	Ghana	Moldova	Sweden ♦
Bhutan	Greece ♦	Monaco	Switzerland
Bonaire, Sint Eustatius & Saba	Guernsey	Mongolia	Syria
Bosnia and Herzegovina	Hungary ♦	Montenegro	Tajikistan
Botswana	Iceland	Morocco	Thailand
Brazil	India	Mozambique	Trinidad & Tobago
Brunei Darussalam	Indonesia	Namibia	Tunisia
Bulgaria *	Iran	North Macedonia	Turkey
Cabo Verde	Ireland ♦	Norway	Turkmenistan
Cambodia	Israel	Oman	Ukraine
Canada	Italy ♦	Pakistan	United Arab Emirates
Chile	Jamaica	Philippines	United Kingdom ¤
China	Japan	Poland *	United States of America
Colombia	Kazakhstan	Portugal ♦	Uzbekistan
Croatia	Kenya	Qatar	Viet Nam
Cuba	Korea, North	Romania *	Zambia
Curaçao	Korea, South	Russian Federation	Zimbabwe

- * A designation of "Benelux" covers Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherland.
- European Union countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden. These countries may be designated as a group ("the European Union") or individually if listed separately above. The United Kingdom is not an EU country.
- ‡ Africa-OAPI consists of Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Gabon, Guinea, Equatorial Guinea, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Guinea Bissau, Senegal and Togo. These countries may only be designated as a group.
- A designation of "United Kingdom" covers England, Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland, the Isle of Man, Jersey, and the Falkland Islands (Malvina) and Gibraltar.

Disclaimer

The above is provided for general information purposes only and does not take the place of specific legal advice. For more specific advice on all aspects of intellectual property law, please contact us.